Invasion – in need of some protection

Luc Sur Orbieu, Aude, Lunes Atelier, Tarot, Well Being

A few weeks ago I went through to Domaine de la Source near Fontfroide. I have blogged about this Domaine previously – see here. Both Norbert & Françoise are exceptionally knowledgeable in the field of gemstones (they make me feel like a real amateur) and the benefits of wearing & working with the stones.

This particular day Norbert was working with a range of stones and for some reason I was particularly drawn to a small rough looking black stone. My eyes wouldn’t leave the stone and no matter how hard I tried to focus on the other colourful beauties he had on his bench my eyes wouldn’t leave the Black Tourmaline. In the end I had to ask him what this stone represented and why I was feeling such a pull towards it.

The following site (http://www.rainbowcrystal.com/crystal/gems/tourm.html) sums up this stone perfectly:

Black Tourmaline (Schorl)

Black tourmaline’s particular function is to repel negative energy. This can refer both to external energies or inner emotions, such as anger, resentment, or jealousy. It is a very good stone to carry when you’re experiencing any kind of stress.

 

As you can imagine I was quite shocked by this and moreover Norbert was very concerned that someone or something had it in for me…..wow! I left the Domaine with a large chunk of rough tourmaline and was advised to place it where I saw fit. As I type the tourmaline is in front of me. For some reason I felt the need to place it in front of the computer!

After several weeks of contemplation and so on…I have been able to pin point several weak spots and as a result I returned to the Domaine for some added protection. After a long discussion I was advised to mix the black tourmaline with some quartz. This is how we came about the Tourmalinated Quartz beads .

The following site (http://www.crystalwellbeing.co.uk/catalogueitemsbycrystal.php?Crystal=Quartz-Tourmalinated)

describes this stone perfectly:

Tourmalinated Quartz is made up of needles of black Tourmaline embedded in natural clear Quartz, thus bringing together the protective properties of Tourmaline with the amplifying properties of Quartz.

It is a powerful protective stone that is believed to have the ability to deflect negative thoughts and energies, protecting the wearer or carrier from being harmed by the negative energy of another.

Tourmalinated Quartz is also believed to turn negative energy into positive energy and is good stone for those who have a tendency towards self-sabotage.

In healing Tourmalinated Quartz is said to help with depression and nervous exhaustion.

So now I have the protection I am just at a bit of a quandary for what to do with the beads. I have made a very simple elasticated bracelet but I don’t feel that this is enough for them. So for the time being they are sitting waiting for some inspiration. Like with all of my jewellery I want something wearable & attractive – so I really need to get my thinking cap on here. The beads in themselves are quite nondescript which doesn’t really help. May be a tough one this project – especially since it’s for me!

Now if it was a piece like this I would have a field day!

The other week I mentioned that I read tarot – well as a result of me blogging here I am reading for a client next week!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Invasion – in need of some protection

  1. It’s the nondescript ones that get the juices flowing!

    Funny, as I read about the elastic I thought of the protection being elastic too, which I don’t think is ideal.

    I think they’d look nice with Snowflake Obsidian. You could do a black and white theme, maybe find some nice lampwork beads to go with it. I also like the idea of black and white suggesting negative and positive.

  2. Judith, thank you so much for the suggestion of snowflake obsidian. Don’t you think that they would be too similar? I’m not sure about lampwork…I like to keep semi-precious & glass separate.

  3. They would be somewhat similar but Snowflake Obsidian is opaque and spotty while your tourmaline quartz is transparent in areas and has spikey rutiles.

    Spots and spikes, opaque and transparent, positive and negative, it all fit the theme in my mind. You can get Snowflake Obsidian in odd shapes or a pendant to make it different enough.

    I mix everything in my necklaces–I think a lampwork focal bead or accents would be beautiful, but you must of course do something to fit *your* style.

    (I’m good at spending your money, eh?)

  4. Do you know Judith the more I look at these beads the more I just feel that they are not right for me. Not quite sure what to do about them….I feel that they fit the purpose but not fit me!

  5. How fascinating! I wear a tourmaline necklace all the time. I had no idea it was doing me so much good – it is pink, green and a bluey colour beads.

    Tarot cards too – how intriguing! I know nothing about all this sort of thing. I was told last year I was too ‘grounded’.

    Oh well…..

Leave a Reply

