What are you reading?

Art, Culture & Ent., Literature, Screen

Whilst in hospital last year on permanent bed rest waiting for my little one to make an appearance I read a mountain of books. My tastes were varied and ranged from Labyrinth by Kate Mosse where I could vividly imagine the characters & the places since the book is based in the Aude & Hérault, to the Janet Evanovich books – which made me laugh out loud I thought my waters would break and then I worked my way through several of the No.1 Ladies Detective Agency books by Alexander McCall Smith. The nurses were all amazed at how much I read. Apparently most mums-to-be watched tv!

Now motherhood is in full swing my reading time has almost vanished and it seems to take me ages to finish a book.The last few days the weather has been stunning and as a result I have sat Manon Lily in her pram in the garden and allowed myself the luxury of a glass of chilled white wine from Cambriel’s at Ornaisons and my latest book – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. This morning the tears flowed as I turned the final pages of this stunning read. A story of bonds, sorrow and eventually honesty. I can’t wait to buy his second book A Thousand Splendid Suns.

I would be really interested in seeing the film The Kite Runner but fear that it may not live up to the book and my own expectations. Having said that the trailer for the film looks fantastic! I have just googled the trailer and am amazed to see there are different versions of the same trailer. Here is another version for the film.

Speaking of reading & writing, Diane over at Much of a muchness has a real skill for covering books. I keep persuading her to come and take part in our Rencontre de l’art & des saveurs in April and can’t wait for her to launch her own etsy site to sell these stunning works of art. I’m sure she won’t mind me showing you a couple of them….

This one is aptly named “snakeskin”

and I just love this “striped album” too

Diane has recently passed on an award to me: read about it here.

7 thoughts on “What are you reading?

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

  2. I loved “The Kite Runner”, too. So often I find that our Indian and Japanese friends write wonderful books; they are superb story-tellers and their use of English is so elegant.

  3. I just had to go and look at Diane’s books, thanks for showing them they are beautiful!
    Btw have just read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime. It was incredibly moving and insightful. I Highly recommend it; (and it doesn’t take very long to read either!)

    suzie

  4. Scatterbarin, glad you like Diane’s books. She has some stunning designs and I would struggle to choose just 1 – in fact I would struggle to choose 5 as I love them all! I have already read the book “Curious Incident!” Having worked with young people suffering from Asperger Syndrome I could relate to it. You are right to say it’s moving and insightful as well as funny (but I’ll probably be shouted at for saying that!)

  5. How very peculiar! I had spotted you had featured me and I wrote a comment immediately thanking you…..I wonder where it went? Floating round the ether somewhere…..or in your spam folder🙂

    Anyways, thank you very much again! It’s much appreciated!

  6. PS I have read ‘Kite Runner’ and ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ and thought they were both thought provoking, moving, splendid books. Highly recommended.

    Just finished ‘Notes from an Exhibition’ by Patrick Gale, a novel about living with a bi-polar artist, which was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

